PDA

View Full Version : Viking Direct Clearance Site


Evil Egg
25-07-2006, 21:12
REMOVED - This is nothing to do with Viking Direct (http://www.thedvdforums.com/jump2.php?url=http://tracker.tradedoubler.com/click?p=16961&a=60823&g=100758)

draconian
25-07-2006, 21:34
Nice spot. Seems most of the bargains like the camera have sold out.

deanos
25-07-2006, 21:43
Is it legit as Viking already have a clearance section on there website, there are no contact details anywhere and the logos are different (look at the K and G) , you pay by paypal :suspect:

http://img430.imageshack.us/img430/2815/viking1cg0.gif


http://img358.imageshack.us/img358/5409/viking2cc1.gif

Xeeozees
25-07-2006, 22:00
REMOVED QUOTE

Most likely a scam, as Viking's official site has their own nameservers that point back to their Office Depot HQ.

Francis
25-07-2006, 22:06
Some of their items have links back to Ebay auctions which look to have been removed by Ebay.
Dodgy-tastic.
Where'd you find out about the site?

BigDonut
25-07-2006, 22:07
I checked out the domain ownership details. it doesn't look like this site had any relation to viking-direct.co.uk
The domain shows as having been created 12 jul 06. I would be very wary

fatmunter
25-07-2006, 22:07
I think it is legit. Marketworks are a well known reputable company. They mainly do data integration with ebay, so I suspect the site is just a sales channel for ebay, which viking direct will sell or start to sell through.

den
25-07-2006, 22:21
Any site with NO way to contact them is highly dodgy in my opinion

Evil Egg
25-07-2006, 22:25
It's definitely legit but has only just gone online so I think there are some teething problems, especially with the listings on Ebay.

I received details of the site yesterday. Gary Thompson works in the E-Commerce team at Viking and they're using Marketworks to list the products on Ebay.

Francis
25-07-2006, 22:29
If I were Viking I'd be looking a refund from Marketworks :D
Very poorly presented amateur looking site that certainly doesn't instill confidence.

fatmunter
25-07-2006, 22:55
If I were Viking I'd be looking a refund from Marketworks :D
Very poorly presented amateur looking site that certainly doesn't instill confidence.

It may not be a finished site yet and maybe under construction, either by marketworks or viking themselves.

Best thing to do is email viking-direct if you have concerns

BaggyDave
26-07-2006, 06:02
It may not be a finished site . . . cough not seen something as bad as that for a while I would steer clear

Kryten
26-07-2006, 06:42
Closing