PDA

View Full Version : Is www.devon-computers.net a con?


coolsurfer
12-08-2005, 13:11
I was about to place an order for a cheap laptop but the pad lock at the bottom isnt locked when your supposed to enter credit card details. I've changed my account details to fake ones for now.

Sloces
12-08-2005, 13:24
a uk mobile phone as the contact number, prices in dollars, hmm, seems a bit weird!

rsykes2000
12-08-2005, 13:25
The domain was registered on 21st July 2005.
Details:
Domain Name.......... devon-computers.net
Creation Date........ 2005-07-22
Registration Date.... 2005-07-22
Expiry Date.......... 2006-07-22
Organisation Name.... DEVON COMPUTERS LTD.
Organisation Address. THE WHITE HOUSE
Organisation Address. 39 TOTNES ROAD
Organisation Address. PAIGNTON
Organisation Address. TQ4 5LA
Organisation Address. DEVON
Organisation Address. UNITED KINGDOM

Admin Name........... Don Smith
Admin Address........ THE WHITE HOUSE
Admin Address........ 39 TOTNES ROAD
Admin Address........ PAIGNTON
Admin Address........ TQ4 5LA
Admin Address........ DEVON
Admin Address........ UNITED KINGDOM
Admin Email.......... webmaster@devon-computers.net
Admin Phone.......... +44.7040122369

Perhaps you could give Don a ring and ask ? Sadly though, it's a 0704 number so will cost you to do so.
They also have an 07837 number to call, this isn't cheap either. Their fax is a London number, 0208.
"Registered in England No. 04009358" - you could contact Companies House to see if they are legitimately registered.
Their prices are in dollars (although this is changeable to Euros) - why ? They clearly want to be seen as based in the UK, why does their website charge in a foreign currency ?
There doesn't appear to be an address on the website or a landline contact number.

Personally, I would steer clear.

yaffle
12-08-2005, 13:26
Yes. Devon doesn't have computers, because they don't have electricity down there yet. It scares them too much, and challenges their faith in the Wookie Hole Witch. Therefore, it's a con.

yaffle
12-08-2005, 13:27
http://wck2.companieshouse.gov.uk/82e3aecf23a58fd714ab4980e06adb2d//compdetails

coolsurfer
12-08-2005, 13:28
Aye I'm gonna stay clear.

rsykes2000
12-08-2005, 13:29
a uk mobile phone as the contact number, prices in dollars, hmm, seems a bit weird!

0704 numbers aren't mobiles, they are 'personal numbers'.

hazelb
12-08-2005, 13:35
Just looked on companies house. They have a 'total exemption small' I think that means they are a small business. Their web site says over 700k business?

Sloces
12-08-2005, 14:01
0704 numbers aren't mobiles, they are 'personal numbers'.
oh, my bad :(

Kryten
12-08-2005, 14:04
Moving...

degeneration
12-08-2005, 14:05
Yes. Devon doesn't have computers, because they don't have electricity down there yet. It scares them too much, and challenges their faith in the Wookie Hole Witch. Therefore, it's a con.
Oi! I'm from Devon and I find that offensive! I follow the 3 Bideford Witches. And we do have computers, one is called Nigel and he can compute that 3 turnips make more pies than 6 strawberrys.

Uncle Nick
12-08-2005, 14:07
http://wck2.companieshouse.gov.uk/82e3aecf23a58fd714ab4980e06adb2d//compdetails


For some reason the Companies House website keeps returning the details for Capital Cards - no matter what I click on (I suspect a local caching problem!).

However, the registered number for Devon Computers tallies with what's on that website. I would strongly recommend finding the telephone number from Companies House (I can't, see above) and ringing them to find out if this REALLY IS their website.

yaffle
12-08-2005, 14:15
Oi! I'm from Devon and I find that offensive! I follow the 3 Bideford Witches. And we do have computers, one is called Nigel and he can compute that 3 turnips make more pies than 6 strawberrys.

:lol: :notworthy

RT
12-08-2005, 15:24
Their Verisign security certificate looks a little suspect. You click on the verisign pic and it takes you here (http://www.devon-computers.net/verisign.php), which plainly states - "To ensure that this is a legitimate VeriSign Secure Site, make sure that:

The original URL of the site you are visiting comes from DEVON COMPUTERS LTD..
[b]The URL of this page is https://digitalid.verisign.com[b]. "

The actual URL of the page is http://www.devon-computers.net/verisign.php, which makes it look very much like they've just copied verisign info from somewhere else, pasted it into their own page and are trying to pass it off as genuine.

Personally, I wouldn't touch 'em with a bargepole :)

Just
12-08-2005, 15:48
A mobile on their returns info page would have me googling elsewhere, not to mention the Euro or US dollar option???

effpee
12-08-2005, 16:56
From the testimonials :


"I would just like to say thank you for the speedy delivery of the windshield I ordered. I am very excited to give this gift to my father who has been looking for a laptop for sometime now. I am very impressed with your website and plan to order quads in the future."

B. Christense Oslo,SW Apr. 2005


Huh? - his father had wanted a laptop for some time so he bought him a windshield...

And now he's looking to buy him a quad bike :shrug:

AWaite
12-08-2005, 17:03
If you Google on the text in their About Us page this site comes up:

www.notebooksuk.com

which looks like a scam too.

ShaneC
17-08-2005, 21:56
The address of the domain name is where Devon Computers are located. They're about us doesn't ring true as they've been in the same building for years now. Seems a bit iffy to me, I'll take a butchers next time I pass their building to make sure they're still going.

Crazy Squirrel
18-08-2005, 07:35
Had a look on yell.com for "Devon Computers"
The White House, 39, Totnes Rd, Paignton, Devon TQ4 5LA
Tel: 01803 526303

Address matches the domain reg, and thats a telephone number with a devon area code.

Edit: My guess is that the DC website is a scam pretending to be DC, and based off some of the info on www.notebooksuk.com, which looks more legit (i.e. contact details etc) but doesnt have a padlock.... hmm