PDA

View Full Version : Fraudulent Ebay Question E-mail - BEWARE - This one is good!


Fred2002
09-07-2005, 21:43
I just received what proports to be a 'Question from Ebay Member' email that looks extremely authentic that says 'I am still awaiting payment for my item....'

Unlike a lot of attempts to get your ebay logon details, this one looks absolutely authentic, indeed I very nearly fell for it myself. However the Ebay username is not one I have traded with and the address showing up for the 'Respond Now' button is not an Ebay website.

The Ebay username is bravofan03 but a search on the Ebay website reveals private feedback :suspect: and no longer a registered user.

Looks like the scammers are getting very clever so be careful out there.

photek
09-07-2005, 21:59
Post a screen shot perhaps?

DeadKenny
09-07-2005, 23:20
All genuine mails from eBay themselves are now also in your My eBay. Anything else is a scam.

Direct mails from buyers/sellers are another matter.

MW-
09-07-2005, 23:25
I also received a very similar email, went along the lines of 'I am still interesting in the item, please let me know the final price etc...' Given the fact I wasn't selling anything at the time led me to be suspicious!

I checked up the ID of the ebay user and it was no longer registered so I ignored the email. I recieved a 2nd email the following day exactly the same from a different user, again another dodgy one.

It had the Respond Now button and looked authentic, but only after reading this post I have taken a closer look at the link and it isnt an ebay link :nono:

It led to some dodgy (but authentic looking) copy of ebay, asking for sign in details, needless to say I filled it in with some random 'yo mama' insults :)

Kryten
10-07-2005, 05:57
Moving...

Nebiroth
10-07-2005, 09:52
Yep I've had a couple of those. I've never sold anything on Ebay so I didn't fall for them. I can see that people would though, even throughjust being polite and sending back a "I don't know what you're on about" message.

The giveaway is that they want you to use "Ebay's" response form, not email reply. and the link in the email goes off to one of those number addresses or places in Poland/Romania etc etc.

These should be forwarded to Ebay's "spoofing" address.

spoof@ebay.com

I've no evidence they've ever done anything about it, but it can't hurt to report these things.

goof
10-07-2005, 10:17
Hmmm, just made me realise I had an email like this the other day just saying "can you tell me when my item will be delivered" - it had no reference to item and I couldnt find her name in the buys lists.

The link in the email seemed legit enough though and when I clicked on respond it took me to my login (which had my login details already stored - ie. I click them in by mouse, not keyboard entry) so now I'm not sure if I've given away any details. Login/URL etc seemed as normal but her name doesn't seem to be in my list...

philbw
10-07-2005, 12:25
Sounds similar to what I received. See here:

http://www.thedvdforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=375595

DeadKenny
10-07-2005, 17:04
Hmmm, just made me realise I had an email like this the other day just saying "can you tell me when my item will be delivered" - it had no reference to item and I couldnt find her name in the buys lists.

The link in the email seemed legit enough though and when I clicked on respond it took me to my login (which had my login details already stored - ie. I click them in by mouse, not keyboard entry) so now I'm not sure if I've given away any details. Login/URL etc seemed as normal but her name doesn't seem to be in my list...
Change your ebay password immediately.

The URL may look normal in an email but it's quite easy to have it look legit and have another scammers URL hiding underneath. It's also not too hard to get the URL in the browser to say one thing when it's really another address, especially if you haven't updated all your security patches. Plus some of the scammers URLs look a little bit like genuine ebay URLs.

goof
10-07-2005, 18:19
Thanks Kenny, have done. Still have the email, looked through it again and it's got all the details about fraud prevention etc so I'm still unsure as to whether it's legit or not - is there an email address where you can forward emails to ebay for them to verify?

paulfthompson
10-07-2005, 18:27
Send to here
spoof@ebay.co.uk or spoof@paypal.co.uk.


Best Regards

Paul
:wave:

goof
10-07-2005, 20:56
Thanks Paul!