PDA

View Full Version : Do I have a Virus on my website??


nashie
29-12-2004, 14:15
I just had an email from someone I know about a site I work with:

--------------

Everytime I go onto it, my virus s/w is flagging up an alert saying the page is infected with the following virus and prevents me from downloading it - "Trojan-Spy.HTML.fraud.gen".
Further info on virus is here - http://www.viruslist.com/en/viruses/encyclopedia?virusid=66363.

--------------

I have no idea how in the hell my page could have a trojan virus on it. Has anybody got any ideas how this could happen? I have McAfee on my PC and I have never recieved any warnings about the site at all.

Here is the link to the page he refers to if you want to check it out somehow. Proceed with caution (although I am unconvinced theres anything there, I coded the site for gods sake)

http://www.thewonderstuff.co.uk/viewarticle.asp?News_ID=55

kcxdev
29-12-2004, 14:22
No warning here using Avast in Firefox or IE :shrug:

subdude2k
29-12-2004, 14:24
No warning here using Avast in Firefox or IE :shrug:

Ditto.

Works fine with no warnings for me as well.

From the link you've provided for the Virus noted, it would appear as though
your friend is the one who is infected.

Sabre UK
29-12-2004, 14:26
No warning here using Avast in Firefox or IE :shrug:

Same here. I only used Firefox though, browsed through a few links. Nothing.

nashie
29-12-2004, 14:30
From the link you've provided for the Virus noted, it would appear as though
your friend is the one who is infected.

Well it doesn't look like he can even view the page, his AV software stops him viewing it. Doesn't make a lot of sense to me.

Hasselhoffia
29-12-2004, 15:41
Fine here on IE6 (SP2) and Norton Antivirus 2004.

Perhaps its the paypal.co.uk link? Might just be bad coding on the antivirus softwares part, assuming anything other then paypal.com is a forged link?

nashie
29-12-2004, 15:47
Fine here on IE6 (SP2) and Norton Antivirus 2004.

Perhaps its the paypal.co.uk link? Might just be bad coding on the antivirus softwares part, assuming anything other then paypal.com is a forged link?

ahh, thats actually a possiblity.

homerjhandley
29-12-2004, 16:14
whats

"the_wonder_stuff_gallery.js"

maybe something to do with that?

nashie
29-12-2004, 16:22
whats

"the_wonder_stuff_gallery.js"

maybe something to do with that?

nah. He only gets a problem with that specific page and that javascript file is included on every page. I think its the paypal link, because all of the news articles are constructed in exactly the same way and include all the same files. So the actual text of the article is the only unique aspect.

homerjhandley
29-12-2004, 16:26
the best bet is to do a blank page with the paypal link on and see if they throws up any messages.

antonyg
29-12-2004, 16:44
You should make the link valid HTML and then ask your friend to try it again. Add quotes in the correct places: <a href="http://www.paypal.com/uk" target="_new">www.paypal.com/uk</a>

nashie
29-12-2004, 16:48
I've changed the link to .com/uk and I am waiting to see if there is still an issue.